Sexybaby@hotmail.com?

Dear RSL,

I just started my job search and a friend advised me that I should sign up for a generic email address.  I’d rather not; I really don’t
want to check yet another email.  What do you think?

I couldn’t help but laugh when I initially read your question.  Memories came flooding back of a previous employer and the whiteboard we had posted in our department with the top 10 email addresses.  Included in it were things like:  sexybaby, honeylove, etc.  While having an “interesting” email address might not kick you out of the running for a position it does not portray the professional image you are trying to get across to your potential employer.  You want to dazzle them with your resume, not put them in a fit of laughter.

To sign up for an email address when starting your job search, I recommend using a service such as gmail with a format such as:  firstname.lastname@gmail.com  Once you have your email set up, I recommend using the email address only for your job search or professional communications.  Not only is it more professional but it also will limit the amount of email coming to your personal account.

Do you need to change your email address?  You don’t have to, however I highly recommend it, especially if you don’t want to end up on someone’s “top ten” list!

Resume Survis Lady is written by Billye Survis. To have your
resume or job search questions answered by Resume Survis Lady, send your questions to: resumesurvislady@gmail.com

Feel free to also connect with Resume Survis Lady:

Twitter:  resumesurvisldy

LinkedIn:   http://www.linkedin.com/in/billye

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherryl Perry
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 10:26:03

    I think having a professional email address is very important. Separating your personal and private lives just makes sense. I even keep my contacts in separate address books. That way, there’s very little chance of sending something personal to someone who you have a professional relationship with.

    Your suggestion for your email format is right on! I would suggest carrying that name over to your resume if you’re creating a PDF attachment. That way, if you email your resume to someone, they’re getting that brand (you) recognition from the second they see your email in their inbox.

    Reply

  2. Jack Rupert
    Aug 20, 2011 @ 13:43:40

    Just to reinforce your comment about improper email addresses…. I’ve signed up to get an email when this blog is updated. When I first saw the title, I thought it had been hacked and was set to delete it. I can only imagine what an HR person thinks when they are getting hundreds of emails a day.

    Reply

  3. Stacey Koconis
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 16:47:44

    I agree (and I remember that whiteboard!) you can still havean email that shows your personality it does not have to be completely generic however there are emails you will want to stay away from completely…. sexy, drug related… to name a few as a recruiter I look at these types of email address’s and can not help but think “who exactly am I sending to my client”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

