Just a few resume hints….Please!!!

Dear Resume Survis Lady,

I’m trying to update my resume and I’m getting lots of suggestions from friends.  What are a few “little” things I can do that will really make a difference?

There are so many “little” things that you can do to improve a resume, where do I start!  Let’s just go with the basics for now and if you have additional questions I can address them in another post.

Let’s start with the formatting of your resume.  Everyone wants their resume to look nice and look professional, so what do they do?  Insert tables to showcase skills or insert bold blocks of color running along the side of their resume.  I’ll agree, these resumes do look nice in a word.doc or on paper.  However, if you submit your resume through an electronic means, the tables and blocks of color become distorted and are often times changed into a weird “alien” language.  In addition, the majority of the formatting of your resume will be lost when your resume is uploaded.  So, what’s the solution?  Leave out tables and blocks of color.  Keep your resume simple.  If you feel the need to add someone other than words, add lines.  As a recruiter, when I get these resumes I just cringe.  I’m sure the person who wrote it spent a lot of time on and effort on creating the resume, however they usually take me about three times longer to try to read through to ensure I’m not missing anything.

In addition to staying away from blocks and tables, something else that you will want to include would be a section on technology.  In this section, you will want to include all of the technology that you have used and/or have been trained on.  This will include such common things as Microsoft Office Suite (you might even go one step further to name the specific program such as Microsoft Excel) or something more job specific such as SAP, BrassRing, Lotus Notes, etc.  You would also want to include such things as LinkedIn, twitter and Facebook if you use them.

Good luck on the resume writing!

To have your resume or job search questions answered by Resume Survis Lady, send your questions to: resumesurvislady@gmail.com or on twitter: resumesurvisldy or connect with her directly on LinkedIn by sending her an invite to connect:  resumesurvislady@gmail.com

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeannette Paladino
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 20:29:24

    I would like to beg people to leave some white space. Whoever said you should have a one-page resume was wrong in my view. I’d rather be able to read the resume on two pages then see everything crammed together on one page so that it’s unreadable.

    Reply

  2. debmcalister
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 17:05:30

    Wow — I’ve been trying to cram my resume on one page for years because so many “experts” said I should. You’ve given me permission to finally leave some space and include what I want. Thanks!

    Deb

    Reply

  3. Catherine S (Photography and Design)
    May 02, 2011 @ 04:02:40

    I want to thank you for your suggestion that a resume should be kept simple.

    I also appreciate the fact that it IS acceptable for a resume to contain more than one page.

    I agree that including technology one has been trained on, is certainly important.

    Thank you for sharing this information.

    Reply

  4. dennis salvatier
    May 03, 2011 @ 00:10:03

    I would also advise to have a creative resume designed. When there is a little color and a little layout added to a well done resume, it really stands out against all the black and white.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

