Addresses on resumes?

Dear Resume Survis Lady,

With everyone using the internet to submit their resume and email to communicate, is it necessary to put my full street address on my resume?

I have to say, this is a question I have never been asked before in my 10+ years of resume writing and recruiting.  I have always included full addresses on resumes that I have written, so I needed to do a bit of research before I felt I could answer this question.

I went through and read everything I could on the pros and cons of including the full address on a resume.  It really is a personal call as to if this information should be included or not.  After I finished reading up on the matter, I asked some hiring managers what their thoughts were regarding addresses on a resume, but more on hiring manager’s views in a moment.  First I will address the cons of including addresses on resumes.

The biggest negative I could find with including addresses is around privacy.  If the resume was to fall into the wrong hands, there’s the possibility that their privacy and/or security could be breached.  I have to admit, the only resumes I have ever seen without an address are those received from an agency recruiter who doesn’t want me to contact the candidate without their knowledge.  The second negative I found was that including the street address on a resume could be seen as being outdated, not technically up to date and instead just be sure to include cell phone, email and LinkedIn profile addresses.  The final con that I was able to find was for candidates that want to relocate to where the position is located and do not want to be removed from the applicant pool based on where they currently live.

By including an address on a resume, you are providing the recruiter and hiring manager a complete picture.  When there are pieces missing off of a resume that are usually there, I start to think that the candidate is trying to hide something and there resume gets extra scrutiny.   I also spoke with a few different hiring managers regarding their views of including or excluding addresses on a resume.  What the overwhelming consensus was is that they want to see the address on the resume.  Without that address, many hours could be spent on the candidate before realizing that relocation might be needed or that the candidate is interviewing with the hope that they will be able to work remote within a few months of starting.

I’m curious as to your thoughts.  Do you currently have your address included on your resume?  Until I have a compelling reason not to, I am going to continue including addresses on the resumes I write for my clients.

To have your resume or job search questions answered by Resume Survis Lady, send your questions to: resumesurvislady@gmail.com or on twitter: resumesurvisldy

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JackR
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 20:37:48

    Interesting topic. I recently removed the address info from my standard resume to buy a few more lines for keywords and applicable experiences. However, I’m only looking in my geographic area, so there won’t be any surprises about relocation, along with the fact that most locals would recognize the area code and my former employer. I figure that nobody is going to send me anything through the mail anyway until they hire me. I’m interested to see other people’s thoughts on this and whether I should put that info back.

    Reply

  2. Samantha Bangayan
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 22:07:25

    I’ve never really thought about this, Billye! Full disclosure makes sense, so that there’s no room for doubt. But what would you suggest in my scenario? I’m a Canadian citizen living as an expat in Peru. When I apply for online freelance positions, I wonder if it’s even necessary to mention that I’m in Peru. It could be at a disadvantage for me. Maybe if I included tons of other information, like my LinkedIn profile, it would still feel like full disclosure? =P

    Reply

    • resumesurvislady
      Apr 13, 2011 @ 19:18:47

      Samantha….very interesting. I would think with freelance it’s a bit different. You would be submitting writing samples along with your resume and it would not be expected for you to relocate but for you to complete the project remotely, right? I would think that you would not need to include an address.

      Reply

      • Samantha Bangayan
        Apr 15, 2011 @ 21:00:27

        Thanks for your opinion, Billye! I think that sometimes companies like to know where I live even if I’m working remotely because it makes a difference in how they would pay me v. a US citizen. That’s the tricky part. =P

  3. Catherine S (Photography and Design)
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 02:55:59

    Billye

    There is quite a bit of information being shared in this post. That is a good thing!

    I am going to comment on the relocation aspect.

    If someone does not desire to offer their full address on his/her resume, would it be acceptable to include the general area. e.g. where the address would normally go one could type: Los Angeles Area

    This would resolve the problem of wondering where the person was located and whether relocation was necessary.

    I am curious to hear your thoughts on that suggestion.

    Reply

    • resumesurvislady
      Apr 13, 2011 @ 19:19:53

      I think this is a great compromise, to list the city/state/zip instead of the full street address. That way the disclosure on location is there, it takes the guesswork away. Thanks Catherine!

      Reply

  4. Diana Andrews
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 10:57:34

    Hi Billye,

    I’ve been told by a CPRW that it’s no longer necessary to include an address on your resume.

    Mainly because it takes up precious ‘real estate’ space, and also because when things are out and about on the internet, as you mentioned, you never know whose hands your information will fall into.

    Reply

    • resumesurvislady
      Apr 13, 2011 @ 19:23:45

      Hi Diana! From what I understand there’s mixed feelings on this topic even among CPRW’s. For some it’s seen as old fashioned but for others its seen as a staple. I think in the next few years this will be more defined. I go through over 100 resumes a day as a recruiter and I can count on one time the number of times I’ve received a resume without an address on it that hasn’t been from an outside agency and the ones that do not have an address are typically those that are located outside of the country and require sponsorship. 🙂

      Reply

  5. Catherine Lockey
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 00:41:51

    I never would have thought resumes would be acceptable without an address but now I see that is old school thinking. I like the change because it does offer more privacy. Also, it’s possible one could be discriminated against based on where they live.

    Reply

  6. dennis salvatier
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 17:16:03

    I never considered taking it off but this makes sense. It avoids discrimination, especially here in Los Angeles, people are so stupid about zip codes and area codes. Great post.

    Reply

  7. Ron Cooke
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 17:03:55

    How about this:

    name email LinkedIn
    Relocation assistance not required. Eligible to work in _ without visa.

    Reply

    • resumesurvislady
      Apr 26, 2011 @ 19:25:28

      Thanks for your comment Ron! It’s definitely important to include your LinkedIn address on your resume. As for the relocation assistance not needed/eligible o work without Visa, it definitely deserves a message and saves what could be some not so pleasant conversations later on in the process. For that information, I would include it in the cover letter.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

